What is the Victor Nightingall Award?

The Victor Nightingall Award was established in 1998 by the Australasian Corrosion Association (ACA) in honour of Victor Nightingall. Victor Nightingall (1881-1947) was a leading 20th Century Australian scientist and inventor based in Melbourne. He invented and patented the world’s first inorganic zinc silicate coating and founded the inorganic zinc coating industry in the 1940s. The award is given to recognise distinguished achievement in the development, manufacture or application of protective coatings or advancement of the protective coatings industry. Guidelines of this Award are below:

Honour Roll

1997 – John Biddle, Queensland
1998 – David Donald, Victoria
1999 – John Hartley, New South Wales
2001 – Ivan Baxter, New South Wales
2004 – David Blackburn, Tasmania
2005 – Alex Szokolik, Victoria
2007 – Ern Hemmings, New South Wales
2009 – Don Bartlett, Victoria
2014 – Dr Robert Francis, Victoria
2017  – Fred Salome, New South Wales
2018 – Mark Weston, South Australia
2019 – Ted Riding, Victoria

Nominations are now open, download the application form below.

Victor Nightingall and the Morgan to Whyalla Pipeline, famous for its first large scale use of inorganic zinc coating.